Cathy Moran Hajo


cathy1I am the Associate Editor and Assistant Director of the Margaret Sanger Papers Project at New York University and have worked for over 20 years on the Margaret Sanger Microfilm Edition, the Selected Papers of Margaret Sanger, and the Speeches and Articles of Margaret Sanger.

I received my M.A. and Ph.D. in history from New York University (1986, 2006) and completed NYU’s Archives certificate program (1988). I did my undergraduate work at Ramapo College of New Jersey. I teach two digital history courses for New York University’s Archives and Public History Program, Creating Digital History and History and New Media. I have also taught for the Institute on Editing Historical Documents, and am teaching my first course, Digital History, for William Paterson University. In conjunction with these courses I have established digital archives on Greenwich Village and New Jersey history.

My research interests are women’s history, social history, medical history and digital history. In 2010 I published Birth Control on Main Street: Organizing Clinics in the United States, 1916-1939 (University of Illinois Press). I have lived in New Jersey for over 40 years.

About Cathy Moran Hajo

Cathy Moran Hajo received her Ph.D. from New York University. She is the editor and director of the Jane Addams Papers at Ramapo College of New Jersey. She was the Associate Editor and Assistant Director of the Margaret Sanger Papers Project at New York University (1989-2015), and the author of Birth Control on Main Street (2010). She teaches the Creating Digital History for the Archives and Public History Program of NYU's Graduate program in history, and Digital History for the Graduate Program in History of William Paterson University.
This entry was posted in Biographies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

