Joshua Sorvino


Josh  My name is Joshua Sorvino. I am a graduate student at William Paterson University. I live in Bergen County NJ and am married with a 6-year-old step-daughter and 1 month old son (at the time of this posting) I currently work in distribution, but hope to move over into the teaching field once I finish up my graduate studies.

My Historic interests lie in 19th-century maritime history. I find the age of sail fascinating, and did a large amount of sailing myself until Hurricane Sandy sunk my sailboat when it was moored in the Hudson River. I have a specific interest in the New England whaling industry, especially around Nantucket and New Bedford. I enjoy folk music of the time and have done my fair share of studying sea shanties.

Outside of history I enjoy collecting vinyl records and driving/showing my 1951 MG TD. I show up at local car shows all over Northern New Jersey, but can almost always be found at the “Touch of England” car show in Ho-Ho-Kus. When not playing records or driving the MG, I enjoy taking my family on day trips to local historic sites or long weekends to Cape Cod (with a stop off at the New Bedford whaling museum).

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

